“Does my bun look big in this?”

Recently on Twitter I noticed one of my friends commenting that “slapped back hair with a big bun” really bugged her. I quickly responded: “oh contraire!”. You see to me, the trusted bun is a bit like your staple wardrobe – there when you need a quick fix with minimal effort (and in my case, with about 12 kirby grips holding the whole lot together for dear life).

The bun and I were only introduced last year and since then, I’ve accrued an array of doughnuts and become fascinated by the different techniques and particularly the size and height of said bun. The bun also comes with a certain degree of intrigue from others: “what’s holding it up?” and “can I touch it?” are amongst my favourites so far.

As per my friends comment, there’s also the options of fringes that coincide with the bun insertion; slick back, carefree and wispy, blunt with an edge, parted ever so slightly in the middle à la Chung. The options aren’t endless but I reckon our love for the bun is just that…

Some of my favourites Brit girls from Cara Delevingne, Sam Rollinson, Rosie Tapner and Alexa Chung

20130228-205210.jpg

And I’ll leave you to make your own judgements on these bad boy buns…

20130228-205506.jpg

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment